Gaming Nostalgia – My Top Ten

Original article at MyIGN

video_games_awesome_fanart_by_sacolin99-d4y8fw9

ERH MA GHERD, GEHMS! We’ve owned them, we’ve played them, we’ve traded them in to buy even more games. It’s a wonderfully viscous circle of life that we gaming geeks have endured for years. Yet, through that time, we’ve loved and lost games that always hold a place somewhere in our hearts and possibly that neglected PS2 memory card under your sofa. Sometimes I just sit back and think about my gaming favourites, how they’ve become a part of the past, my past. Ready yourselves for some nostalgia, kids, here are my top ten games of my time:

1. The Lord of the Rings: The Third Age

lotr

Infamously, there haven’t been many reputable licensed series throughout my childhood. After being heavily disappointed by the Mr Bean video game, and a multitude of PS1 Disney-Pixar titles, I sought comfort in the warm embrace of EA and their efforts with The Lord of the Rings gaming franchise. I give Warner Bros some credit for their experimentation, but EA were incredibly faithful and innovative with it. My personal highlight was The Third Age, a turn-based LOTRPokemon hybrid that pits you in a compelling RPG adventure in the footsteps of the fellowship. Great locales, characters and enemies from the three movies; heck, the game had you fighting Nazguls as your first enemy – much tougher than a cuddly Pikachu!

2. Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II

dow

Fast-forward yourself into the year 40,000, and your Rangers of Gondor have laser rifles and your Orcs have jetpacks. Welcome to the future: it’s a lot bloodier than you anticipated! The Warhammer universe is quite an insane one, filled with a variety of armies and races just hell-bent on shooting each other senseless. It makes for a an incredibly dysfunctional ride when we convert that into RTS gameplay. Couple that with a long story, great RPG elements and more violence than a Leeds United football match and you have one of the best PC games of my lifetime.

3. Crash Twinsanity

twinsanity03

Who the heck is Crash Bandicoot? Once a popular Sony mascot, the cuddly bandicoot has gone rogue since 2008, with recent rumours that Sony wants to taste the wumpa fruit again some time in the future. In secondary school, pretty much everyone I knew had experienced Crash Bandicoot in some form or another, whether it be through mediocre impressions of N. Gin or bonding over the fact that Wrath of Cortex was their only Crash game. For me, Crash Twinsanity brought together everything that I ever loved about Crash. It had a charming sense of humour, both written and slaptstick (see above picture), colourful characters and locations, new and old, as well as some of the most brilliant concept art I’ve ever seen! After completing it four times, it’s still a personal favourite.

4. Simpsons Hit and Run

simspons

Cortex may be my favourite, yellow-skinned villain, but the Simpsons have to be my favourite, yellow-skinned domestic family (I actually Googled ‘yellow-skinned domestic family’, it seems no others exist!). The theme of my room when I was younger constituted entirely of The Simpsons memorabilia. Simpsons bedsheets, dolls of the Simpsons, Simspsons comics in the corner of my room: I think I’ve made the folks at Fox a lot of money! Hit and Run was always a bonding point among myself and other The Simpsons fans, even more than the show. Mixing Grand Theft Auto with Springfield made for a hilariously-addictive way to spend my time, and the only time I’ll ever experience driving a rocket car.

5. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon

Far-Cry-3-Blood-Dragon-FPS

I raise both hands in the air when I say that I haven’t played any of the Far Cry games. Sure, I played about thirty minutes of Far Cry 3 at my mate’s house, but it never reeled me in much. When I heard that Michael Biehn was voicing a commando cyborg who rose from the ashes of Vietnam War II to fight a cyber army and blood dragons, I ran straight for my debit card yelling ‘SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY’. The game exists independent of the Far Cry franchise and mimics the likes of the original Robocop: filled with satire, robotics and more weapons than a Texan gun shop!

6. The Matrix – Path of Neo

neo

Admit it, we’ve all asked that one friend of ours to pretend to shoot us so that we can attempt to doge that make-believe bullet like a complete badassThe Matrix is understandably one of the coolest cult films of my time and Path of Neo gave me an excuse to take the red pill and kick some ass. The lobby scene? Yeah you can do that. The fight with 13235232143 Agent Smiths? Oh, absolutely. Making your way through a Chateau maze fighting giant fire ants? Don’t ask!

7. Bioshock Infinite

WashingtonmuralBIHD-1

Arguably one of the coolest gaming titles of the past ever, enter the Bioshock series. As a PS3 player, I found it incredibly difficult to ignore this series, despite trying my best for a few years. ‘No thank you, my life is as weird and political as it is with Fallout in it!’. The series grew across current gen and I had to give in: oh was it worth it. With gratuitous violence, a tough-skinned concept and execution and one of the most mind-numbing endings I’ve ever played (I had to ring my girlfriend after I’d played it and basically cry down the phone attempting to explain it), it really is one of the best adventures you can ever experience. Also, it has Troy Baker, because what doesn’t have Troy Baker these days?

8. Battlefront 2

star-wars-battlefront-2-games-widescreen-wallpapers1

It’s a simple fact: people love Jedi, there’s an entire religion based on it! Mention ‘Battlefront’ to anyone and they won’t talk about the first game, they’ll boast about that badass light-saber throw they did as Darth Maul and how they tried to mimic the ‘cable trick’ as Luke Skywalker on the Hoth map. LucasArts made a vast amount of brilliant Star Wars titles in gaming, but Battlefront 2 really shone as a game that was fun to play on your own, but absolutely necessary with your friends. Mos Eisley, you won’t just be remembered for your funky tunes and bar fights, but for your ‘Hero Assault’ matches, too.

9. Wario Land 3

wario land

When the world was in awe over a selfless, friendly Italian plumber who risked his life to save princesses, I was busy sat in the back of our family car on holidays guiding an overweight, reckless mustachioed man to his next destination. Oh, and playing Wario Land 3, that was also a nice pastime! Originally an antagonist to Mario, the garlic-ridden Wario got his own franchise that soon grabbed my intention. Taking the Indiana Jones treasure-hunter stance, Wario had to find a variety of treasures to help him escape a music box, as well as make a bit of cash for himself. It had zombies, donuts, giant worms and a variety of wacky stuff that made me blissfully unaware that I was very travel-sick: I’ll always be thankful.

10. Mario Strikers Charged Football

mario

And finally, numero ten, Mario Strikers Charged Football. This was a game where I could still engage with Wario and his brutish antics, whilst still being able to admit to two things: ‘Why yes, I have played a Mario game’ and ‘No, sorry I’ve never played FIFA, does this count at all?’, I loathed football and played it, I had friends who loved football and played it – it certainly was for everyone. The campaign made me feel like a semi-professional footballer, whilst the multiplayer made me realise that I should pack in that ambition if it ever grew to become real. Great fun and one of the best games on the Wii, if only I still played on my Wii!

Leave a Reply

