Here Comes The Sun (Shine Award)

Pint of Guinness? Check. Attempting to blot out Dad’s ‘classic’ St. Paddy jokes whilst watching ‘Waking Ned Devine’? Check. ‘FECK’ reg-plate placed conveniently above the kitchen door? Checkiddy check-check. May the most joyful day in the son-of-an-Irish-man’s calendar commence! Sadly, being underage, I can’t celebrate in the same way that a stereotypical Irishman might do; but I’ll happily swing along with the festivities. In fact, St. Paddy’s Day rubs off on just about everyone – a time of celebration and an appreciation of why the Irish are, well, the best people on the planet. Yet, not everyone turns up to celebrate. I’ll give you a clue – the culprit is round, orange and wears shades. Well… it was actually ‘The Sun’; but yes, I’ll accept ‘Kerry Katona Abroad’ as a suitable answer!

Unfortunately, St Paddy’s Day takes place towards the end of winter but near the beginning of spring. That means, to quote ‘Father Ted’, the weather is always feckin. shite. Today has mustered just about every kind of weather. Wild winds, persistent rain and a period of snow… but where’s that lovely sunshine? Sun – you’ve let Earth down; you’ve let the Irish down; but most importantly? You’ve let yourself down. Whilst I may not be able to drag the son from behind the clouds in a Bruce Almighty-like fashion, I can certainly use the power of my blogging enthusiasm and the likes of chalkdustfairy to bring a bit of sunshine into the world!

*Plays Harmonica* – My musical ear is still slightly deaf from my Grade 8 violin exam last week, so I won’t sing this for you. However, I’ll leave that to you to hum the following to the tune of The Beatles’ ‘Here Comes The Sun’:

Here Comes The Sun (Shine Award), Here Comes The Sun (Shine Award), It’s Brilliant (Do do do do do do do do dodododo)

Thanks to chalkdustfairy (if you haven’t read her blog yet, I recommend you do so before, you know, my respect is lost for you), I’m ‘bringing out the sunshine’ through the form of a new blogging award, ‘The Sunshine Award’. *Pfft*, who needs the real Sun anyway? After all, I don’t need sun-cream to embrace this form of sunshine, nor sunglasses at risk of blinding myself from staring at it! If this award is new to you, here’s a little description:

“The Sunshine Award is an award given by bloggers to other bloggers. The recipients of the Sunshine Award are: “Bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogsphere”. The way the award works is this: Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them. Answer questions about yourself. Select 10 of your favourite bloggers, link their blogs to your post and let them know they have been awarded the Sunshine Award!”

Just to throw this out there… I’m one of the few people in existence who has never played a 20q ball. However, I will compensate that disgrace of a claim by answering these 10 intriguing questions:

1. What inspired you to start blogging?

I’m not going to hide the fact that the real reason was the look of shame I received from a Leeds Trinity lecturer who visited our school, when I informed her that I wanted to be a journalist and had no experience to my name! However, the ‘ignorance is bliss’ reason has to be that it’s the way I tame both my philosophical mind and my eager sense of humour. As a growing kid in a growing world, I want to capture every bit of it; whilst making people laugh and smile along the way, of course!

2. How did you come up with the name for your blog?

My lacking sense of ‘titular imagination’! I guess I like the simplicity of AdrianCharlieHoran – it has a ring to it, it’s easy to remember and hey, what better way to get myself noticed than to stick my name in the title of it? Oh… , my middle name’s actually ‘Charles’ – that doesn’t count as treason that I dislike that as a name, does it?

3. What is your favourite blog that you like to read?

Just to avoid scenario where angry bloggers march to my house in the form of a ‘angry mob’ as I haven’t chosen them as my favourite, I’m just going to provide a generic answer – All of them.

4. Tell about your dream job.

I admit, I used to have two dream jobs – to be the next ‘Doctor’ or be the manager of my own ‘Jurassic Park’ (what can I say? I love dinosaurs!). However, thanks to mainstream education and a few ‘life lessons’, I settled for Journalism. Though I don’t regret it – someday I hope to write for a large publication, possibly a satirical magazine. If I end up writing ‘The Big Issue’? Well, it’d not quite be ‘living the dream’, but at… at least my words are being published?

5. Is your glass half-full or half-empty?

*Geeky squeal*, after writing a full-blown post on the matter, I can safely confirm my glass is half-full. No wait, three quarters full. I’d have to say it’s full. Could somebody get more a larger, optimistic glass here?! QUICK!

6. If you could go anywhere for a week’s vacation, where would you go?

Hmm… I think I’ll go with ‘Narnia’ on this one. After a week of talking lions, fighting ice queens and hospitable fauns, I’d come back out of that wardrobe and a week wouldn’t have even gone by in real-world time! Plus, I could maybe learn ‘cat’ language whilst I was there and finally translate what my cat is saying… Muahahah, it’ll no longer be a mystery!

7. What food can you absolutely not eat?

Plain. Yoghurt. Even saying its name is just so boring and tasteless! I like the idea of picking a yoghurt out of the fridge, not looking at the label, tasting it and guessing what sumptuous flavour my taste buds are currently being subject to. Yet plain yoghurt fails that test as it’s just the same every time. Plus, it just tastes like thick milk, which is a no-no.

8. Dark chocolate or White Chocolate?

White chocolate, for one reason and one reason only – Milky Bars. They’re strong, they’re tough and let’s face it – this song is enough to persuade you:

9. How much time do you spend blogging?

At first, I thought I’d tackle the ‘Blogosphere’ head on and post two times a week, which is about four hours of blogging. Yet, as much as I thought I was Clark Kent, I had to reduce the time to one post a week, if that, thanks to the demands of the big wide world! Time management, not Kryptonite, being my greatest weakness :/

10. Do you watch a lot of T.V.? If so, what are your favourite shows?

I don’t get to watch the tele-box that often; but when I do, I’d have to say ‘Waterloo Road’, ‘Simpsons’, ‘Arrow’, ‘Doctor Who’, ‘Miranda’, ‘Mrs Brown’s Boys’, ‘Friends’, ‘Sherlock’ and ‘You’ve Been Framed’. If that isn’t a mixed bag? Well – I don’t know what is!

And just to spread the sunshine just a lil’ bit more, here are my ten nominees:

Fog’s Movie Reviews , The Return of the Modern Philosopher , Lorna’s Voice , Dear Kitty. Some blog , Bella Grove Plantation Bed And Breakfast , Broken Light: A Photography Collective , The Hand-Written Life , Essa On Everything and Stuphblog

*Cue cringey compliment* – you make this world a brighter place, pun intended!

2 thoughts on “Here Comes The Sun (Shine Award)

  1. Thank you very much 🙂 Hey, I guess it’s better than not watching it at all! She’s brilliant, by any chance did you watch ‘Mrs Brown’s Boys’? It was on the slot before Miranda in the U.K., tummy-tickling stuff.

Leave a Reply

