Once, Twice, Three Times A Blogger

Whoever suggested that the number three is a magical number is a wonderful chap/chappette. In fact, I’d quite possibly shake their hand to express my gratitude to them – three times, just to exaggerate my appreciation! Look around you, notice how good things always come in threes? The Subway ‘Meal Deal’ is £3.00, The Lord of the Rings is a trilogy, a Shamrock is a three-leaf clover and, not to blow my own trumpet (which has three valves, just sayin’) but I was born as a set of three. *Ahem*, need I say more? Oh, wait, I’ve just included four examples instead of three… okay, okay, my theory is slightly flawed here but at least my intentions were clear! Rather than seeing everything as one, separate entity in life, it’s just nice to accept that some things just can’t helped but be grouped with something else. Or with another something else, for that matter. Come on, would it be charming if there was just ‘One Blind Mouse’? Not really, it’d just seem cruel as to why this poor, blind little mouse has been mocked for years with nursery rhymes, rather than being notified to the RSPCA! How about ‘Two Men and a Baby’ as opposed to the film ‘Three Men and a Baby’? I know, I know – the title just has a bit of a ‘Gay Adoption Rights’ vibe to it. Consider four ‘life lines’ rather than three in a game of ‘Who Wants To Be A Millionaire’ – you’d have a lot more millionaires skipping merrily through the streets throwing their cash around. It’s just part of the natural cycle of things – all good things come in threes.

Thankfully, AdrianCharlesHoran is just another addition to this natural order of things. I sit writing this post with a smile on my face (not just due to the fact that I’m currently wolfing down this apple crumble. If only this came in threes! ) as this post is to celebrate my third blogging award ceremony! *Balloons fall from ceiling, Adrian does the ‘Chandler Dance’ in excitement, sits down in embarrassment as Mum witnesses ‘Chandler Dance’* A big thank you to the humurous, addictive blog of nuderamblings for nominating me for the ‘Liebster Blog Award’, which is given to the talented, newcoming bloggers with less than 200 followers. I was braced for the end, considering my followers are nearing upon 200 and the possibilty of receiving a Liebster felt about as slim as finding a fresh water fountain in the Sahara Desert! However, thanks to some patience and a bit of the old ‘crossing of the fingers’ (works every time) I can finally accept that good things do come in threes as I feel honoured to accept this award:

Whilst I’ve never been one to ever read the ‘Terms And Conditions’ for something, merely click ‘agree’ straight away, I’ll make an exception for a blogging award. I’m expected to answer 11 questions, nominate 11 people for the award and provide them with 11 questions to answer. Yikes… my ‘rule of three’ flew straight out of the window there! Regardless, here are the 11 questions to answer as provided by nuderamblings:

1. What would you do for a Klondike Bar?

What wouldn’t I do for a Klondike Bar is a better question! Wait, in fact… nothing, considering as I have just ‘Googled’ the name of this foreign sounding bar of chocolatey goodness.

2. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you choose to live?

I know that I’m suppossed to be proud of where I live – but why stay in rainy, rainy England when I can spend my life drinking Guiness, speaking with an Irish accent and listening to U2 in Ireland? Okay, so I might have just decribed my Dad with a hint of casual racism…

3. White or red wine?

Neither – I’m underrage! Adrian Horan – providing a role model for the modern youth since 1995.

4. Gene Wilder or Johnny Depp chocolate factory? (Sidenote, Johnny Depp is the only man who can still go by “Johnny” after 15 and still be sexy)

Gene Wilder – he hasn’t had the chance to play Jack Sparrow yet. When he does, I might consider Johnny Depp.

5. What do you like most about your job?

The ‘part-time’ aspect of it; full-time work for a 17 year old? I’ll pass!

6. Who was/is your favourite Spice Girl and why?

Is none a credible answer to this question?

7. What would you consider the biggest insult to yourself?

‘Hi Anthony! It is Anthony, right?’

8. What is the strangest item in your home?

The ‘FECK’ regplate above our kitchen door. There’s a sentence I never thought I’d say…

9. When was the last time you climbed a tree?

When I was 13 and I fell right off of it. It certainly will be the last time!

10. Do you make your bed everyday? (This is a no judgement zone people)

I, er… No not really. Do you make your bed everyday?

11. What is your favourite holiday? Why? (Birthdays count)

May 12th – three birthday celebrations on one day? My pleasure!

Here are the 11 questions I’ll provide to my 11 nominees:

1. Scone (S gone) or Scone? (Sc own)

2. What is the most adventerous thing you have ever done?

3. You’re stranded on a desert island which, funnily enough, has a portable music player on it. What are your five albums of choice?

4. Who is your favourite celebrity?

5. What do you consider to be your biggest flaw?

6. If you regret doing one thing, what would it be?

7. We all have one – what is your hidden talent?

8. What is your guiltiest of guilty pleasures?

9. What would you say is the world’s coolest job occupation?

10. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

11. James Bond or Harry Potter?

Here are my selected nominees:

My apologies if any of you have over 200 followers – my I.C.T. skills would be at an incredible fault if that is the case! Congratulations to all of the nominees and thank you for reading folks. Also, let me provide you with a leaving tip – why not sing Lionel Richie’s ‘Once, Twice, Three Times a Lady’, but replace the ‘lady’ with something else? Hopefully that’ll convert you to my side where everything is much better in threes – muhahah!

20 thoughts on “Once, Twice, Three Times A Blogger

  1. Oh snap! Just when I was thinking about doing a piece on not to honor me with awards, you bust my award cherry. It’s much appreciated and I think you may have changed my mind on the whole thing. This ought to be interesting.

  2. Right, I was just clicking through to see who the heck was following my blog this time, started reading your post thinking about how funny you were and how it’s so awesome you this award, then I’m sitting there reading your answers, giggling about some of them, then – deep breath, I know this is the world’s longest run-on – I get to your nominees and go “Oh snap, someone stole my blog name! Who do I have to hunt down and hurt?! No wait…nope, nope…no. That’s me.” Sweet. Thanks for the nomination, and for dropping by on my blog, hope it continues to entertain. I guess I better get to answer those questions…

  3. 1. Scone (S gone) or Scone? (Sc own)
    (Sc own)….I have never ever heard of people saying it the other way!

    2. What is the most adventerous thing you have ever done?
    I hopped (or hobbled, rather) onto a plane this summer with a broken foot to fly hundreds of miles away from everyone I knew to live with someone I’ve never met in order to intern with a non-profit that combats human trafficking. And I must say, it has been one of my most fulfilling adventures to date!

    3. You’re stranded on a desert island which, funnily enough, has a portable music player on it. What are your five albums of choice?
    I never listen to just one set album, in fact, I probably couldn’t even tell you the name of ONE album. (Yes, you may point and shame me publicly.) However, I’ll list artists: TobyMac — he just energizes me; Dave Barnes — I would marry his voice and his lyrics; Jason Mraz — it makes me smile; David Crowder — He is such a unique character with such interesting music, I’d have to have some of that on my lovely new island; Brandon Heath — His music serenading me would probably make being on a deserted island a lot less stressful.

    4. Who is your favourite celebrity?
    Can I say Jesus? He IS pretty famous….

    5. What do you consider to be your biggest flaw?
    I set high standards for people that I see a lot of potential in (most everybody) and get hurt when they do not meet them.

    6. If you regret doing one thing, what would it be?
    Declining an invitation this past May to go to Uganda with the founder of Restore International and his team.

    7. We all have one – what is your hidden talent?
    When I was little, I could literally climb up door frames. My mother was quite literal in saying her child was “up the walls.” I haven’t tried lately, but I imagine I still harbor this ‘talent.’

    8. What is your guiltiest of guilty pleasures?
    I check Facebook WAY too much. Seriously, I need to put myself on some sort of separation program. (Ha ha!)

    9. What would you say is the world’s coolest job occupation?
    A missionary who goes around the world helping people, loving them, and teaching them their worth while likewise writing a book about their lives to give even the smallest voice the impact of an internationally heard bullhorn yell. I would love to go about traveling, taking pictures, and writing a big story from life stories of people in different cultures and different places.

    10. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?
    Flying. I really, really wish I could fly….at unlimited speeds, of couse.

    11. James Bond or Harry Potter?
    Harry Potter….but to be honest, I haven’t seen past movie 3.

    By the way, as an American I absolutely love your British writing! Oh, and thanks for the nomination. Very kind!

    1. Haha I’m currently sat here reading your answers laughing, which I didn’t think was possible at this time on a Thursday morning! Thank you very much, it’s a pleasure and i hope to read more of your blog 🙂

  4. I know I haven’t commented much on your blog – you hardly need me now, do you? – but I just wanted to drop by to congratulate you, not so much on the award, but on the consistently high (and getting better) quality of your writing on here.

    I’ll be using this post when the ‘rule of three’ / ‘triplets’ thing comes up as a rhetorical device in class.

Leave a Reply

