Long Live Our Inner Child :)

Peter Pan is an incredibly lucky kid. Whilst I sit here writing this blog, studying for my A-levels and hoarding my spare change like Ebenezer Scrooge in the hope of saving some ‘dosh’ for later life; 10-year-old Peter Pan is busy flying around Neverland, Wendy in hand, without a care in the world. *Sigh*, I guess it’s just a part of growing up – but boy would I love to trade places with him for just a little while!

Now I know that that will never happen, I guess what I am trying to say is that we won’t be young forever. I was reading the BBC news today, basking with snoozefest articles about David Cameron failing the Letterman quiz, more added cuts to the already growing fiscal troubles… *scrolls down page*. But then I found an article which celebrated the 30th birthday of the emoticon, an article which the child in me just loved to read. The world is becoming an increasingly formal place and it was admitted that the emoticon is a fun, child-like thing that we carry with us. Regardless of age. Regardless of age… if only that applied to everything.

I remember having limitless freedom as a kid, not having to give a monkeys about anything. I could run around my house with a ‘Hot Wheels’ car in hand, shouting ‘BRUUUUUUM’ at the top of my lungs (I was a very active kid) and be called cute by my parents. But now, my Dad just tells me to ‘Calm it down, son’ whenever I run up the stairs. I could go to my friend’s house and for a few hours we could just pretend to be pirates looking for a secret treasure (his Mum would encourage us and hide a ‘Mars Bar’ somewhere in the house. 9 times out of 10 it was behind the sofa, I still lost everytime!). Oh how things have changed. Ever so subtly, that freedom you once had as a kid just deteriates. One day you play in the ball pit, the next you don’t. One day you sit watching ‘Spongebob Squarepants’, the next you find yourself continiuously watching ‘Friends’. You become more grown up and you’ve just had to let your childhood slip away. It’s not an easy transition.

I guess it is hard for an only child, or someone without a little sibling like myself. Once you find yourself transform into an adult, you don’t have a little munchkin to teach the best hiding places to hide in your house or how to play their first videogame. All those things you did as a child, you can’t really pass on until you have kids of your own. The lucky ones are those who have a younger brother or sister. Sure they may be an irritable pain in the backside from time to time, but we all were once, weren’t we? Society wants us to act mature and grown up. But at home, well, you can act about 5 years old with them and the world just won’t care.

A favourite author of mine said that there is a time when we all begin to use credit cards, to drive our first car, to have that first job. Most of us see that as a part of growing up. Now that’s not what I like to call it – I prefer to call it ‘ageing up’. Deep down, we’re all still kids. You don’t have to let your inner child go – just tell him to shush once in a while when someone calls you ‘innapropriate’. My generation is coming to an end; we’ll soon be off to university and venturing off into the adult world. Peter Pan may never grow up. But for us? We can ‘age up’, whilst still watching Toy Story again and again and buying a Kinder Surprise Egg once in a while (Hopefully it’s not just me!). That is something Mr Pan will never have, and it’s something we should always cherish, no matter how old we become.

Long live the emoticon, and long live our inner child 🙂

18 thoughts on “Long Live Our Inner Child :)

  1. Awesome post Adrian…tune in for my Ebook- It is precisely on this subject, and in a very VERY loud Peter Pan-esque sort of way. Bravo to you for being “ahead” of the curve. In a way I would say you are wise beyond your years, but that would sound a little counterintuitive given the subject matter. So I’ll just say this: Hold on to that Pixie Dust.

  2. I quite agree on the whole, although I would like to encourage you/disagree with the idea that one should feel insecure about consuming said Kinder Egg. There is no such think as an age limit on food, clothing, activities or lifestyle. Why should certain things be reserved for people in a certain age bracket? How absurd. Well written, well said.

    1. I’m relieved that someone agrees with me. It has always been something that has troubled me, we shouldn’t have to associate ourselves with a certain age group. I appreciate your feedback and have just followed you, I hope to read more of your posts in the future 🙂

      1. Excuse my late night commenting, I am not even meant to be awake! Thank you for following 🙂 I only just began blogging and find it therapeutic to journal about my life. I number my posts so things are in date order. Thank you again and I look forward to reading your blog as well. Lottie.

      2. Haha it’s my pleasure, your blog is great! Thank you, I hope to see more of your work soon 🙂
        p.s. apologies for not replying, it wasn’t intentional I just didn’t see the notification.

  3. Reminds me of a saying I find to be appropriate here. Growing old is mandatory, but growing up isn’t. I’m a few days shy of twenty one and most people I come across believe me to still be at least sixteen. Immaturity will keep us young forever.

    1. Thank you 🙂 And it’s basically a milk chocolate egg that has a plastic toy inside a capsule underneath the layer of milk chocolate. They really did make my childhood!

  4. And if you are wondering about your age ‘coming to an end,’ I can tell you as a Dad who has sat with his kids through TS1, 2 and 3 (and TS1 and 2 x many times) and had to pretend to my wife that the wiping by the eyes with the ‘popcorn napkin’ was because I sneezed (ahem), let me assure that the magic does not end unless you let it go…

    …oh and even if you do you can catch it again.

Leave a Reply

