My Life Is Alive, With The Sound of Muuusiiic

It may be Monday. It may have rained so much today that my clothes have stuck to me for the majority of the day. There may be a triple bill of Simpsons on Sky One tonight. BUT even those reasons aren’t enough to stop me posting tonight. Now I would say ‘commitment’ is my middle name – but I kind of spoilt that illusion in my last article. You catch the drift, time for my next post!

Now my WordPress ‘Gravatar’ gives it away, but I am a dedicated musician. Quite like the picture, there never seems to be a moment where I don’t have a violin in my hand. Myself and my triplet siblings have played it from the age of 7 and music has been a key part of my life ever since. I know that some people will find themselves in a situation where they literally have nothing else to do – music gives you an excuse to fill that empty space in time. Whether it’s to have fun or to expand your skill-set, playing an instrument is a great way to create a new hobby.

Yeah, I know that a lot of guys nowadays prefer to play Call of Duty as opposed to a crackin’ tune on a violin, but still – that doesn’t mean music is dead. Hopefully people can agree with me when I say that I always seem to have a pair of earphones plugged into my ears. While obviously it’s a great way to get out of an awkward situation (nothing to say? Pretend to text and stick those headphones in – works like a charm!), listening to music helps to reinforce every emotion. Feeling happy? Feel even happier with a bit of music. Feeling sad? Chin up, buddy, put those headphones in. For those few minutes whilst a song plays, we immerse ourselves into our own little musical bubble, where the world can be forgotten just for a little while. It has helped me get through a lot in my life, and I’m sure it will continue to do so.

We all have different musical tastes thanks to our different personalities. Personally I like to see myself as a bold individual, someone who likes to make themselves heard, who’s not afraid to experiment from time to time. Hopefully you’ve guessed my musical choice already. If not – here is a bit of a giveaway: 

I’m not a great fan of modern chart music (I’m looking at you ‘The Wanted’), it’s just too “samey” for me. Rock’s always finding a way to reinvent itself, to be even more barmy than the last record whilst keeping to a deep, meaningful lyric set. Well, most of the time anyway. That’s always been a concept I’ve thought about – look at yourself as a person. How you act, how you react. Does it reflect your personality? Just a little thought to leave you with. Oh, and this. Of course I wouldn’t do a music post without a reference to this. It’s just brill.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9bZkp7q19f0

Leave a Reply

