Go Fourth and Multiply

Ohhh the magical world of science. My parents asked for one, just one more child so that my older sister Naomi could have a play-friend. But the big man in the sky was feeling generous that day, and decided to give them… *dramatic pause*, three babies!

That’s right readers, for those who don’t know (mainly the blogging community, I’ve not really shared this fact with you, apologies), I am one of a set of triplets. With an identical twin brother in that set of triplets. To sum up, my Mum and Dad basically hit the jackpot on the genetic lottery. I tend to take that fact for granted, but me and my class were having a chat about myself and my brother today and I came to a conclusion. Multiple births rock.

Despite Mum reminiscing about the constant back-pain problems, and a reduced ability to walk carrying three babies, she always tells us that having triplets changed her life. Now whether that’s for better or for worse I’m not sure; but personally, having three restless babies in close proximity 24/7 wouldn’t be my ideal cup of tea, but we all have different preferences. A lot of my friends really don’t know how she managed to constantly monitor three little rascals, but from her perspective we didn’t seem all that bad. It’s the stories she told that makes the idea of raising multiple children that less scary; whether that’s how my brother Anthony would spill chocolate down his face and become ‘The Chocolate Monster’, or how my sister Olivia would team up with Naomi and dress up our cat in numerous baby’s accessories (why on earth my cat agreed with such a thing, I’ll never know).

Now for anyone out there who was part of a multiple birth, you can agree with me when I say that personally it doesn’t seem all that amazing; but I always forget that multiple births are a rare event. Sure I’m used to it, but whenever I meet new people and tell them I have two siblings the same age as me, it’s as if I’ve just told them I secretly have superpowers (I’m still waiting for the day when I can tell someone that!). But it’s even better when I’m with my siblings, the conversation tends to go a little something like this:

“Excuse me, but are you two twins?” “Why yes, yes we are… triplet’s whilst we’re getting things out in the open.” “WOW that’s amazing! But… bless your poor mother!”

It’s kind of become a routine with the three of us, and it makes me chuckle each and every time we say it. Yet, even though we’re triplets, it’s the concept of twins that people ask the most questions about. Any twins out there can back me up on this, but you tend to get this series of questions. 1. Who was born first? 2. Are you like, psychic? Can you read each others minds? 3. If i punched twin one, would twin two feel it? 4.Who’s the evil one? It becomes slightly tedious, but you’ve got to answer these questions – it’s standard twin procedure! Any multiple birth child who has an identical sibling knows that you’ve got to make the most of your awesome identical gene order. You can have a ton of fun, whether it’s swapping names for photo day, swapping classes, finishing each others sentences, heck, even having alternative dates with the same girl –  make the most of being a multiple child. We’re a special breed.

It may be a slim possibility to be a multiple sibling? But wow, I’m glad I’m that 1 in *insert figure here*, because I wouldn’t change it for anything. It’s pretty neat.

One thought on “Go Fourth and Multiply

Leave a Reply

